ATTORNEY-GENERAL ROBERT McCLELLAND MP

23 October 2009

APPOINTMENTS TO THE ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL

Attorney-General Robert McClelland today announced fifteen part-time appointments to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT).

New appointees to the AAT include Ms Katherine Bean, Mr Stephen Frost, Mr Dean Letcher QC and Ms Jan Redfern as Senior Members and Dr Tony Austin, Dr Jan Chaney, Dr Amanda Frazer, Dr Hadia Haikal-Mukhtar, Mr Mark Hyman and Mr Ian Laughlin as Members.

Ms Geri Ettinger, Dr Ion Alexander, Dr Michael Miller AO, Professor Tania Sourdin and Dr Maxwell Thorpe have also been reappointed in their present positions.

These are the final appointments to be made from the merit selection process for AAT members conducted by the Australian Government in 2009.

Ms Bean will be based in Adelaide. Dr Chaney and Dr Frazer will be based in Perth. Dr Miller will be based in the Australian Capital Territory. The remaining appointees will be based in Sydney.

A short biography on each of the appointees is below.

Media Contact: Adam Siddique 0407 473 630

Dr Ion Alexander

Dr Alexander has been a part-time Member of the AAT since 2004 and a senior staff specialist at the Sydney Children's Hospital since 1987. He was chairman of the Division of Medicine at the Sydney Children's Hospital from 1995 to 2001. Dr Alexander was a visiting specialist, staff specialist and senior staff specialist at the Prince of Wales Children's Hospital from 1980 to 1987.

Dr Tony Austin

Dr Austin transferred to the Royal Australian Air Force Specialist Reserve in 2008, having served with the RAAF since 1980. He is Chairman and Director of the Remote Area Health Corps Ltd, an Examiner with the Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators and an Adjunct Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Queensland. He was head of Defence Health Services from 2005 until 2008.

Ms Katherine Bean

Ms Bean has been employed by the Australian Government Solicitor since 1990 and is currently General Counsel in Adelaide. She has extensive administrative law experience and has practised in the Tribunal since 1996, including in the workers' compensation, social security, immigration and veterans' jurisdictions.

Dr Jan Chaney

Dr Chaney has been in general medical practice in Perth since 1980 and was a part-time Member of the Social Security Appeals Tribunal from 1989 to 1999. Prior to 1980 she was a resident medical officer in the Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital and the King Edward Memorial Hospital in WA.

Ms Geri Ettinger

Ms Ettinger has had over 25 years experience as a tribunal decision maker, including 18 years at the AAT. She has been a mediator with the NSW Workers' Compensation Commission since 2002 and a Member of the NSW Medical Tribunal since 2000, and is currently chair of the Medical Tribunal's Professional Standards Committee.

Mr Stephen Frost

Mr Frost has been a Member at the Tribunal since 2006 and is an accredited mediator. Between 1989 and 2008, he was a taxation specialist at KPMG, Touche Ross & Co and KPMG Peat Marwick Hungerfords. From 1977 until 1989 he worked at the Australian Taxation Office.

Dr Amanda Frazer

Dr Frazer has been executive director for the Women and Newborn Health Service in Perth since 2006 and was a part-time Member of the Social Security Appeals Tribunal from 1994 until 2001. Between 2002 and 2006 she was medical director of the King Edward Memorial Hospital for Women and the clinical director of Revenue Capture in the WA Department of Health.

Dr Hadia Haikal-Mukhtar

Dr Haikal-Mukhtar has been a general medical practitioner since 1981. Since 2008 she has been a consultant medical educator for the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and a General Practitioner at Synergy Education and Training in General Practice in Sydney. She is currently a Member of the Professional Services Review and the Health Professions Registration Board, both in Victoria.

Mr Mark Hyman

Mr Hyman has over 17 years experience as a senior executive in developing and implementing policies and providing advice to Government on a broad range of environment protection issues and legislation. He was formerly the Director of the Canberra Office of the Western Australian Department of Premier and Cabinet. From 1992 to 2005 he was an Assistant Secretary in the Commonwealth Department of Environment and Heritage.

Mr Ian Laughlin

Mr Laughlin has extensive experience as a board member and general manager of financial services. He is currently a non-Executive Director of AMP Life Ltd and Diligenta Ltd, a UK company. From 2002 until 2006 he was Managing Director of seven life insurance companies and director of a number of life insurance companies.

He is a former Chairman of AMP Superannuation Ltd and also a former Chairman of SUNCORP Superannuation Pty Ltd.

Mr Dean Letcher QC

Mr Letcher has been in private practice as a barrister in NSW, ACT and Papua New Guinea since 1972 and was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1988. He was appointed as a part-time Member of the NSW Mental Health Tribunal in September 2008 and has also held appointments as a mediator, arbitrator and contributions assessor with the NSW Supreme and District Courts and Dust Diseases Tribunal.

Dr Michael Miller

Dr Michael Miller has been a part-time Member of the Tribunal in the ACT since 1995 with skills and knowledge in medicine. He has held a number of specialist medical positions, which include a long history of service in the Australian armed forces.

Ms Jan Redfern

Ms Redfern is currently a consultant with Sparke Helmore Lawyers. Prior to that, Ms Redfern worked in senior management positions in the Australian Securities and Investments Commission between 1999 and 2008, and was a solicitor at Hunt & Hunt Solicitors between 1983 and 1999.

Professor Tania Sourdin

Professor Sourdin has been a member of the Tribunal since 2004. She is also a Professor of Conflict Resolution at the University of Queensland, a Lead Training LEADR and Mediation Consultant Director at Endispute Ltd.

Dr Maxwell Thorpe

Doctor Thorpe has been a part-time Member at the AAT since 1985. He is a consultant physician in private practice, honorary consultant medical officer at the Prince of Wales Hospital and Chairman of the Appeals Committee for Overseas Doctors of the Australian Medical Council. He is a former member of the Repatriation Review Tribunal, Veterans' Review Board and medical referee for the NSW State Compensation Court.