

Administrative Decisions Tribunal of NSW Part-time Judicial Members, Revenue Division

The Honourable Greg Smith SC MP, Attorney General, is seeking expressions of interest from qualified persons for appointment as **part-time judicial members** of the Revenue Division of the Administrative Decisions Tribunal of NSW ("the ADT") for a period of up to 3 years.

The ADT is created by the *Administrative Decisions Tribunal Act 1997*. The ADT undertakes independent external review of administrative decisions made by government bodies or officials. The Revenue Division judicial members hear reviews of certain decisions made by the Chief Commissioner of State Revenue including payroll tax, land tax, and stamp duties. The Revenue Division has both judicial and non-judicial members who may sit on Appeal Panels.

Membership classification and selection criteria: Deputy Presidents and non-presidential judicial members are required to be either current or former judicial officers or Australian lawyers of at least 7 years standing. Prospective appointees should be able to demonstrate their specialist expertise and experience in the work of the Revenue Division, good communication skills, and a capacity to produce written decisions in a timely way. Experience as a tribunal member would be an advantage. All expressions of interest must address the requirements as set out in the information package.

General: The NSW Government is committed to increasing the representation of women, people of culturally diverse backgrounds, people with a disability, people of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander descent and young people on such tribunals, and expressions of interest by individuals from these groups are welcomed. A commitment to the principles of social justice and cultural diversity is essential.

Inquiries: Ms Pauline Green, Registrar, ADT, (02) 9377 5690.

ADT website: www.lawlink.nsw.gov.au/adt

Expressions of interest in Word or PDF format addressing each of the selection criteria, accompanied by a detailed curriculum vitae and the names of at least two referees, must be completed online by 30 March 2012.