

NEWS RELEASE

042/2008

NEW APPOINTMENTS TO NADRAC

Attorney-General Robert McClelland today announced four new appointments to the National Alternative Dispute Resolution Advisory Council (NADRAC).

NADRAC is an independent non statutory body providing advice to the Attorney-General about alternative dispute resolution.

"It is with great pleasure I announce the appointment of Mr John Hodgins, Mr Tom Howe QC, Mr Stephen Lancken, and Ms Lindsay Smith to NADRAC," Mr McClelland said.

"These new members will make a valuable and broad ranging contribution to NADRAC's work, including through promoting the use and profile of alternative dispute resolution."

Mr McClelland also announced the reappointment of Professor Tania Sourdin and Mr Warwick Soden and expressed his thanks to retiring members Ms Josephine Akee AM, Mr John Spender QC and Ms Lynn Stephen.

"Each of the retiring members has made a significant contribution to NADRAC's work over many years."

"This included fostering the development of the new industry National Mediator Accreditation System, which commenced on 1 January 2008."

The new appointments are for three year terms. Short biographies of the appointees are attached.

Media Contact: Adam Sims 0419 480 224

4 June

Biographies of appointees to NADRAC

Mr John Hodgins

John Hodgins is a magistrate based in Cairns. Prior to his appointment as a magistrate, he was the Chief Executive Officer of Legal Aid Queensland. He was formerly a member of the Steering Committee Reviewing Aboriginal Legal Services, a member of the Family Law Council and a member of the Council of the Australian Institute of Judicial Administration.

Mr Tom Howe QC

Tom Howe QC is the Chief Counsel, Litigation at the Australian Government Solicitor (AGS), where he has worked for the last 22 years. Prior to joining AGS, he worked in private practice and as a solicitor with ACT Legal Aid. He is a member of the Australian Corporate Lawyers Association, the Federal Litigation Section of the Law Council, and the ACT Bar Association.

Mr Stephen Lancken

Stephen Lancken is the Australian Principal of the Trillium Group. He is also an Adjunct Lecturer in Conflict Management at the University of New South Wales. Mr Lancken is a member of the New South Wales Law Society's Dispute Resolution Committee. He is an accredited mediator under the National Mediator Accreditation System and an accredited mediation specialist with the Law Society of New South Wales.

Ms Lindsay Smith

Lindsay Smith is the Acting Executive Manager for the Dispute Resolution Branch of the Queensland Department of Justice and Attorney-General. She was formerly the Coordinator of the Dispute Resolution Branch's Mackay Dispute Resolution Centre. Ms Smith is an accredited mediator with the Queensland Department of Justice and Attorney-General. She is a former conflict resolution consultant at FH Collins Secondary School in Canada and is a former Deputy Principal of Mackay State High School.

Mr Warwick Soden

Mr Warwick Soden is Registrar and CEO of the Federal Court of Australia. Mr Soden has extensive experience in relation to ADR in the justice system. He is a member of the Federal Court ADR Committee and the Practice and Procedure Committee in matters concerning ADR. In particular, Mr Soden has played a major role in relation to ADR programs and initiatives in the Federal Court and the Supreme Court of NSW.

Professor Tania Sourdin

Professor Tania Sourdin is Professor of Law and Dispute Resolution and Director of Conflict Resolution and Practice, Australian Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies, University of Queensland. From 2002-2007, she was Professor of Law and Dispute Resolution and Director of the Conflict Resolution Research Centre at La Trobe University. Professor Sourdin is a part-time member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.