Bar Council

The Bar Council is our governing body, comprised of  21 barristers elected by the membership. The Bar Council, in turn, elects a president, two vice-presidents, a treasurer and the honorary secretary.


Image of Michael McHugh SC

Michael McHugh SC


Image of G A Bashir SC

G A Bashir SC

Senior Vice-President

Image of Anna Mitchelmore SC

Anna Mitchelmore SC

Junior Vice-President

Image of Dr Ruth Higgins SC

Dr Ruth Higgins SC


Image of Nicholas Broadbent

Nicholas Broadbent

Hon Secretary

Bar Councillors