Bar News

Terms of reference

The Bar News Committee consists of the editor and other barristers. Its function is to oversee the publication of Bar News, which is the journal of the New South Wales Bar Association and is published three times per year. Contributions to the magazine usually come from members of the Bar Association but also include interesting contributions from those involved generally with the legal community. 

Each issue attempts to include pieces on recent developments, public addresses, features on life at the bar, practice developments, interviews, personality and book reviews, obituaries and humour. 

The editorial committee makes decisions on what articles are suitable for publication. Members of the committee are expected to liaise broadly with the bar and to solicit or obtain from the bar matters of interest to members. Particular aspects from the work of the association which are a special interest to members will be highlighted in the journal from time to time.


Catherine Gleeson SC (Chair)
Farid Assaf SC
Dominic Villa SC
Anthony Cheshire SC
Simon Philips
Penny Thew
Reg Graycar
Sean O’Brien
Kavita Balendra
Daniel Klineberg
David Parish
Victoria Brigden
Talitha Fishburn
Elizabeth Nicholson
Kevin Tang
Ann Bonnor
Claire O’Neill
Stephen Ryan
Nicholas Bentley
Naomi Wootton
Justin Pen

Rebecca Seraglio (Bar Association Staff Member)