Common Law

Terms of reference 

The Common Law Committee is comprised of barristers with an interest in and practice encompassing all aspects of the common law particularly damages or compensation for personal injuries, from employers' liability, to motor accidents, occupiers' liability, medical and other professional negligence, workers compensation.

The committee assists the Bar Association in formulating its position on issues that affect the substantive law and procedure in these areas and, in preparing submissions and correspondence on those issues to government and non-government bodies. It also operates as a vehicle through which the concerns of members practising in the field can be brought to the attention of the association and through which the Bar Association can be informed.


David Hooke SC (Chair)
Bede Kelleher SC (Deputy Chair)
Richard Cheney SC
Jeremy Morris SC
Maria Gerace SC
Shaun McCarthy
Tony Bowen
Ben Bradley
Ross Stanton
Hilbert Chiu
Eraine Grotte
Jnana Gumbert
Nicole Compton
James Masur
Sarah Warren
James Thompson

Lara Parmenter (Bar Association Staff Member)