Diversity and Equality

Terms of reference

The Diversity and Equality Committee leads the development, implementation and promotion of strategies, policies and initiatives designed to attract, retain and nurture members of the NSW Bar who are reflective of the community they serve. The committee fosters best practice, diversity, inclusion of difference and equality of opportunity for its members. It seeks to ensure that people who wish to join the bar and its members are treated equally and not disadvantaged by their unique attributes which contribute to the overall advancement of the profession. Through education, the committee aims to promote diversity, the value of difference, eliminate prejudice and bias and encourage equality and collegiality among the members of the bar.


Sera Mirzabegian SC (Co-Chair)
Melanie Cairns (Co-Chair)
Miles Condon SC
Ragni Mathur SC
Sean Flood
Awais Ahmad
Juliet Curtin
Renee Bianchi
Nipa Dewan
Uche Okereke-Fisher
Karen Petch
Carolina Soto
Frank Tao
Faheem Anwar
Mahmud Hawila
Eugene Chan
Winnie Liu
Elly Phelan
Dr Katherine Fallah
Jackson Wherrett

Alanna Condon (Bar Association Staff Member)