Family Law

Terms of reference
  • Represent the interests of the NSW Bar with all stakeholders in the family law sphere and, to this end, to maintain engagement with each of the Family Court of Australia and the Federal Circuit Court of Australia on a regular basis
  • Support and encourage members of the NSW Bar who practice in the family law sphere, including by the provision of CPD opportunities
  • Maintain an active participation in developments in the family law sphere, including in the development and reform of legislation and practice rules
  • Support and maintain engagement by those who practice family law with the Bar Association and its broader membership.


Michael Kearney SC (Chair)

Hon Stephen O’Ryan QC

Peter Cummings SC

Suzanne Christie SC

Mark Anderson  

Christopher Lawrence

Michael Weightman

John Longworth

Mary Rebehy

Claire Cantrall

Sarwa Abdelraheem

Ellyse Matterson and Elizabeth Pearson (Bar Association Staff Member)

To top