Bar Council is assisted by specialist committees comprised of barrister volunteers who offer their skills and expertise for the benefit of the public and the profession. Committees regularly advise and assist the Bar Council in matters of law reform and public affairs, including responding to matters of public policy and the administration of justice. This can involve providing expert commentary to ministers, members of parliament, government and parliamentary committees and law reform agencies. Committees operate in accordance with the Bar Association’s Guidelines for Committee Tenure and Governance.

Accessibility Panel

Valerie Heath (chair)

Alternative Dispute Resolution

Mary Walker (chair)

Bar News

Ingmar Taylor SC (chair)

Climate Change Law Panel

Ruth Higgins SC (chair)

Common Law

Robert Sheldon SC (chair)

Costs and Fees

Mark Walsh SC (chair)

Criminal Law

Stephen Odgers SC & Helen Roberts SC (chair)

Diversity and Equality

Kate Eastman SC (chair)


Robert Hollo SC (chair)

Family Law

Robert Lethbridge SC (chair)

First Nations

Andrew Smith (Acting) (chair)

Human Rights

Sarah Pritchard SC & Simeon Beckett (chair)

Industrial, Employment, Health and Safety

Bruce Hodgkinson AM SC (chair)

Innovation & Technology

Michael Green SC (chair)

Inquests & Inquiries

Kristina Stern SC (chair)


Greg Laughton SC (chair)

Legal Aid

James Trevallion (chair)

New Barristers

Georgina Westgarth (chair)

Practice Development

Ian Hemmings SC (chair)

Succession and Elder Law

Lindsay Ellison SC (chair)


Cynthia Cochrane SC (chair)

PCC #1

Edward Muston SC (chair)

PCC #2

Michael Izzo SC (chair)

PCC #3

Dr Ruth Higgins SC (chair)

PCC #4

Dominic Toomey SC (chair)